The girl with the globes

31 Dec

2013 was the year of the selfie. So I thought, in stead of national politics, Syria or women’s rights, let me focus on myself this last day of the year. Totally 2013.
And, dear people, what a year it was.
2013 was the year in which I published my first book. It was also the year in which I lost my dearest gran, the day after my book release.
The year in which I was a guest on Dutch talkshow Pauw & Witteman twice, both times received a shocking amount of hate tweets, and learned that if you want to be a part of it, that’s apparently part of it, too.
The year I won the Joke Smit Award, the Dutch government award for women’s rights.
The year in which I stood among demonstrators on Tahrir Square, my eyes burning with tear gas, climbed the Acropolis, and was recognised on the streets of Warsaw.
The year in which I flew over 60 thousand kilometers.
And while I am writing this I think of the girl, who some thirty years ago sat in her little room, dreaming. We would call her a nerd now, but that word didn’t exist back then, just like selfie for that matter. She collected globes, preferably in foreign languages. She had them in German, French and English, but also in Russian, a room full of them. She could sit there for hours, staring at the exotic names of places far away, dreaming she would walk there one day, in Chisinau or Havana or Leningrad, which still existed back then.
She always made sure Africa was facing forward. It looked better that way, she thought.
If the girl with the globes only knew then what she knows now. That her exotic dreams would come true. That she was capable of more than she ever thought. That it didn’t matter what the people said. That she would just do it.
Yes, 2013 was above all the year in which I said goodbye to Little Kirsten. The year in which I decided to stop listening to that little voice that says ‘What are they going to think?’ or ‘Can I really do that?’

I wish you all a GRAND 2014!

4 Responses to “The girl with the globes”

  1. Saskia Goldschmidt December 31, 2013 at 10:05 am #

    Kirsten: What a beautiful image of the little girl with all the globes. Congratulations with everything you managed to realize and I wish you an inspiring 2014!

    • kirstenvandenhul December 31, 2013 at 10:07 am #

      Thanks Saskia! I wish you a wonderfull 2014 too!

  2. Maas Theo December 31, 2013 at 11:21 am #

    Dear Kirsten, I also wish you een beatiful and exiting 2014. And I hope you still have a lot of dreams to accomplish. I hope to read about them.

    • kirstenvandenhul December 31, 2013 at 11:33 am #

      Thanks Theo! Same to you!! Here’s to an ambitious, fullfilling and healthy 2014!

Leave a Reply

