A weird week..

24 Oct

_MG_4706

Last week was a pretty weird week. Possibly one of the weirdest weeks in my life. Why? Well, I launched my first book (S)hevolution, had an amazing night with even more amazing people, only to wake up the next day and hear my dearest gran had passed away.

My gran, born in 1919, was a big inspiration. She never had the chance to finish school, let alone pursue a career, but she stood tall in the midst of turbulence. World wars, crises, and the birth of four children, she survived it all. ‘Keep going’, she used to tell me. ‘Don’t give up’.
Her nurses told me how proud she was of her granddaughter, with her columns and her book.
Her passing made me realise how much women have accomplished in less than a century. We have the right to vote, we drive, we work, we can divorce or have abortions, we can become anything we want to be. But it also made me think how much we still have to gain. My gran has never seen a female prime minister lead our country, nor has she seen a female mayor lead Amsterdam.

I would like to challenge the idea that we have achieved gender equality, that the emancipation of women is ‘done’. We seem to have collectively bought into that myth, and I think that it is time we open our eyes to reality. Women still earn less, are more likely to be victims of violence, are less likely to be presidents, and are still not allowed to be Pope. I love the bold new add campaign for UN Women, developed by Memac Ogilvy & Mather Dubai, which uses genuine Google searches revealing widespread prevalence of sexism and discrimination against women.

No, we’re not quite there yet. We still have a long way to go. My gran told me to keep going, and that’s exactly what I’ll be doing. In the name of the (S)hevolution. Will you join me? We’re worth it.

3 Responses to “A weird week..”

  1. F vd Werfhorst October 24, 2013 at 12:09 pm #

    Heel mooi kir! Xf

    Verstuurd vanaf mijn iPhone

    Op 24 okt. 2013 om 12:15 heeft The Change Agent’s Blog het volgende geschreven:

    > >

  2. Lucie Blomsma October 24, 2013 at 1:07 pm #

    Heel ontroerend en verwarrend dat die dingen samenvielen, het feestje van de boekverschijning en het verdriet om het heengaan van je geliefde oma. Twee uitersten van het emotionele spectrum, blijdschap en verdriet. Vaak denk ik bij je strijd voor de seksen, oh nee niet weer hè, zo ‘n uitgekauwd en herkauwd onderwerp, ook al heb je gelijk, mannen en vrouwen verhouden zich in de maatschappij nog niet 1:1, ik denk toch, move forward and change the subject. Je bent nog zoveel meer dan een pleitbezorger voor de mensen-emancipatie. Breng het in de praktijk, show don’t tell. Ik heb je boek nog niet gelezen, maar zal het introduceren in mijn literatuur-vriendinnen-clubje, stuk voor stuk vrouwen die hun steentje bijdragen en voorzien van de belangrijkste intentie: kennis nemen van je boek en open staan voor een al of niet inpasbaar advies. Veel succes met je boek! Groeten Lucie B.

  3. Maas Theo October 26, 2013 at 12:17 pm #

    My condolances with the loss of your grandma. How inspiring it must have been for you that she so much believed in you.
    I’ll joijn you all the way, the only problem is, that I am a man. But what the heck, that’s only a small problem.

Leave a Reply

