Honey, let me show you

7 May

While surfing the net I sometimes run into the craziest words. Take mansplaining for example.
You know. ‘No, that’s not how it’s done honey. Let me do that for you.’
A whole blog is dedicated to the phenomenon, with loads of hilarious stories of men showing us how it’s done.
My mom and I had it on holiday in Greece once, when the car rental guy started showing my mom how to use a clutch. ‘Look, that’s how you put it in first, second, third. You see?’
She must have had her driver’s license for some twenty five years then.
I sometimes have it when I change my old-timer’s oil. As soon as I open the hood, they come running, the chivalrous gentlemen who are dying to teach me where to put the oil exactly.
As a woman, you could get angry with them. Show them that you know how it works, a clutch, a dip stick, drill or whatever tool it is you have in your hands at that particular moment.
Or you can laugh about it, real hard, which is what I try to do. Cause let’s be honest: aren’t they funny, those macho meddlers?
And before all you guys start protesting.. we women do it too, I’ll be the first to admit it. Maybe not when it comes to drilling or cars, but with babies for example, or in the kitchen, or when cleaning, or doing the laundry. ‘No honey, you’re doing it all wrong. Let me show you.’ I don’t believe there’s a word for that as of yet, but I am sure you could easily fill a blog with those stories, too. Boy oh boy, do we know better. Maybe it’s about time to let it go, all of us that is. Cause whether it’s a guy or a girl doing it, mansplaining is soooooo last season.

One Response to “Honey, let me show you”

  1. Donna DuCarme May 9, 2013 at 1:29 pm #

    Yep. Mansplaining. Been dealing with it my entire adult life. At one point I learned to sometimes simply smile, step back and let them be the ones to lift the heavy thing or get their hands greasy. It’s my subtle form of subversion. It doesn’t lower my competency levels at all, and makes my point better, later, when they realize what happened.

Leave a Reply

