The Change Agent Is Traveling

16 Feb

“Have a great vacation!” a dear friend said before I left to New York last week. Vacation it is not, but great it most definitely is..
Traveling means work, especially as a change agent and UN Women’s Representative. From my first ever show at The Apollo with the amazing Blitz the Ambassador and his Embassy Ensemble to my first ever UN Commission on the Status of Women, representing the revolution should not be taken lightly.
Being a public diplomat does have its perks. Yesterday, grocery shopping in Brooklyn, me and my companion picked up on the shop owners’ native tongue. “Assalamu Aleikum”, we greeted them in Arabic. Utterly shocked by two Dutchies speaking his language, an interesting conversation followed, on the most recent revolutionary developments in Tunisia, Egypt, Libya, Yemen and Bahrain. When we reached for our purses to pay, the shop owner shook his head. “It’s on me.” “You must be joking right?” I said. “No, seriously, Oallahe. You speak Arabic, groceries are on me.” Now that’s what I call diplomacy.

Leave a Reply

