A change agent?

26 Apr

When people ask me what I do, I tell them: I’m a change agent. “Excuse me? A what?” I’m a change agent. I inspire people (individuals, organizations and companies) to change. My change agent’s toolbox is a mixed bag of media, mediation, moderation and.. modesty. There’s no change without awareness. And though a change agent can help people become aware, the process of reaching that awareness is a very personal one.

“So what do you do?” I help people become aware of and achieve the change they are looking for. This could take many different shapes or forms. In everything I do, I use what I call the five stages of change.
Step 1: participation
A process of change can only be successful if all stakeholders are truly engaged in the process.
Step 2: information
Change often starts with learning new things. In order to change something into something else, you need to know what exactly that “something else” implies.
Step 3: inspiration
Change without inspiration is like french fries without salt. Sustainable change comes from within, and inspiration is the key to unlock both head and heart.
Step 4: (co-)creation
Once the inspiration landed safely in both heart and head, it’s time to start working. What can we do with this inspiration and information? And who can help us realise these ideas and ambitions?
Step 5: transformation
Implementing the ideas that resulted from the previous 4 steps is what I call transformation. Without change no butterflies!

“So how do you do this?” I inspire people to change by using different formats, including think tank sessions, personal coaching or group brain storms. In addition, I also write and perform as a spoken word artist. On this site, you can read more about my work and my words.. I’ll keep you posted on future change projects. And in case you want to find out more: get in touch and exchange some change!

© Kirsten van den Hul The Change Agent

Leave a Reply

